Accountability on the Internet

Today I looked at Facebook and got angry because one of my best friends (who owns a gaming shop) had just been accused of being a thief in a Magic the Gathering group. Nobody that I know of seems to know the accuser and there is not a picture of him on Facebook. This person accused my friend of a crime when he obviously had no proof of and in this case it constitutes libel. to prove libel you need a few things you must show defamation in this case he called my friend a thief which ruins his credibility. you must explain identification in this case he called my friend by name and identified him in various ways. you need to demonstrate publication it was on Facebook in a forum where others can see this. you need to prove fault which in this case he clearly means to ruin my friends reputation. Confirm personal harm in this case his reputation has been hurt and he is under some emotional distress as well as his wife. So I hope he takes it down soon or maybe the moderator or Facebook will intervene. By all accounts be careful what you publish because as I said earlier nothing on the internet is a secret.

One thought on “Accountability on the Internet

  1. rayebs says:

    Though I think the internet has done WONDERS for the world and communities and people… it has its downsides. Like invisibility of identity when wanting to be a bugger.

Leave a Reply

